The Best “Berserk Watch Order” to Follow!

A Perfect Guide of Berserk Watch Order You Must Follow!

Berserk is a Legendary manga that has been going on for 30 years with over 40 Volumes in its Storage. Even this day, it is one of the most sold and best manga out there. After reading the manga, you would definitely want to jump into the anime.

Even if you didn’t read Berserk manga, we would highly recommend you to start reading manga before watching it. But if you’re anime-only person, you can still enjoy it to the full extent.

The only dilemma you’ll face before watching it is not knowing the order of watching it. Well, that’s precisely why we’re here today. So, here is the Berserk watch order you need to follow before jumping into this legendary anime.

Berserk Watch Order!

Berserk (1997)

Berserk (1997)- berserk watch order

Berserk from the year 1997 is the first and possibly the best anime adaption of the whole franchise. It has only 25 episodes, and you can watch them in one go. Although its story does not have the depth as in the manga, it still works pretty well.

Everything is on point and very detailed compared to any other part of the Berserk watch order. If you consider the anime’s year and back off, then you’ll miss a masterpiece.

We’d like to give you a small sneak peek at the storyline, but it’ll only knock out your curiosity. Well, then how about this one? The first part of Berserk covers the entire “Golden Age Arc” and a small part of “Black Swordsman Arc.”

The good thing about this part is it makes you anxious by filling you with numerous mysteries which later come in quite handy. So, we’d recommend you start with this part in the Berserk watch order.

Berserk: The Golden Age Arc (2012-2013)

Berserk: The Golden Age Arc- berserk watch order

Even though if you didn’ watch the anime, the title might sound familiar to you. That’s because the first part of the Berserk watch order covers the same arc as this one. So, why do they need to adapt the arc that has already included in the first anime? Well for new watchers, not relatable to the first anime, it comprises of three films:

  • Berserk: Golden Age Arc I- The Egg of the King
  • Berserk: Golden Age Arc II- The Battle of Doldrey
  • Berserk: Golden Age Arc III- The Advent

The animation style in these three films is incredible, but only specific scenes feel rushed, but they still make your time worthwhile. And coming back to the question of why they need to remake the same arc, the answer is pretty simple. For the people who loved the first part, they need some incredible action scenes with fantastic animation.

Hopefully, these films provide them, and more importantly, these films have less censorship than other parts. So, with some additional storyline, these three movies from the Berserk watch order will make your spent time invaluable.

Berserk (2016)

Berserk (2016)- berserk watch order

This 2016 anime is the sequel of Golden Age Arc and is adapted from the “Black Swordsman Arc.” It consists of 24 episodes and covers every part where the previous two parts have left. It also covers the “Hawk of the Millenium Arc” and the whole “Conviction Arc.”

Compared to the manga, it took a different route in presenting its story. In other words, a lot of material from the manga has been skipped, and we can even refer to it as a downfall. The animation is great but compared to the films; it might not reach your expectations.

So, Should you watch this one?

Yes and No. If you’re a newcomer to the Berserk series, then we’d recommend you to watch it. However, if you’re a manga reader and checking the anime, then it wouldn’t make any difference even if you skip it. Well, it is the last part of the Berserk watch order so far.

How to Watch Berserk in Chronological Order?

If you’re kind of person who wants every small detail to be clarified without any stress, then you can watch in the below-mentioned order. You’ll get a good grip on the story if you watch it chronologically, but we’d not recommend you to watch in chronological order for the sake of your experience.

So here’s Chronological Order:

  • Start with 02-25 episodes of the Berserk anime (1997)
  • Watch the last 52 minutes of the film “Berserk: Golden Age Arc III- The Advent.”
  • Come Back and Check Episode 1 of Berserk anime (1997)
  • Go on with all the episodes of 2016 anime.


Here’s the ultimate guide that can boost up your experience with anime. Unless you prefer to watch for a story instead of experience, we wouldn’t recommend you watch chronological order.

However, if you want to enjoy the show with great anticipation, follow the Berserk watch order as we stated above. We hope this post is helpful to you. If you have any doubts regarding the Berserk watch order, make sure to leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

You might also like:

Visit the anime community of India-Anime Ukiyo for more content!

For the latest anime news and reviews, follow Anime Ukiyo on TwitterFacebookInstagram, and Telegram Channel.

Posted by
Hanumanth Reddy

Hanumanth is an enthusiastic author who enjoys writing about anime, movies, and TV shows and aims to share his optimistic views with his readers. His favorite franchise is Star Wars, and he aspires to be a Jedi in the future, but he vows not to fall on the dark side.