The Best “Black Butler Watch Order” for Timeline!

Black Butler season 4
Image Credits: Aniplex of America

Black Butler is a quite popular anime, but it also has a bit confusing timeline. You must have been wondering how to overcome this obstacle in finding the perfect watch order for Black Butler or Kuroshitsuji.

In this article, we’ll provide you with the best “Black Butler Watch Order” you can follow to ensure no misconceptions in the storyline.

Black Butler Watching Guide!

1. Black Butler I

Black Butler season 1- Black Butler Watch Order
Image Credits: Aniplex of America

The first season of the Black Butler is which you need to start with and there is no prequel to it. So, you can start watching the anime from the first season without confusion.

2. Black Butler II

Black Butler Season 2
Image Credits: Aniplex of America

The second season follows the events of Black Butler I without losing anything in between. So, once you’ve finished watching the first episode, give it a go.

3. Black Butler: Book of Circus

Black Butler: Book of Circus season 3
Image Credits: Aniplex of America

Book of Circus is a canon and adapts Noah’s Ark Circus arc from the manga. The first season skipped this arc while it was supposed to include it. So, the franchise decided to make into a third season.

It’s completely fine to watch it after the second season because you won’t be missing anything out; not to mention, you won’t get spoiled from the second season as well.

4. Black Butler: Book of Murder

Black Butler: Book of Murder
Image Credits: Aniplex of America

Book of Murder is an OVA series with two episodes, and it did a wonderful job in intensifying the excitement of the story. Right after watching the Book of Circus, you can start watching this one.

5. Black Butler: Book of Atlantic

Black Butler: Book of Atlantic
Image Credits: Aniplex of America

Unlike the rest of the ones we have mentioned in this article, Book of Atlantic is a movie that released in 2017. It presents you with different CGI yet excels in animation department.

It is also a canon part of the manga and also a must-watch in Black Butler watch order. So. watch it after finishing all the series as we pointed.

Black Butler Watch Order (Canonical Part):

  • Watch Season 1 up to Episode 15 which covers until Curry arc
  • Black Butler: Book of Circus
  • Black Butler: Book of Murder
  • Black Butler: Book of Atlantic (Movie)

Black Butler was still pretty good, with mixed canon (a little additional stuff matching the manga) content. But if you’re set on watching only the main stuff without any other interruptions, you can follow the Canonical Black Butler watch order.

If you’re here for entertainment, then we highly suggest you go through the actual order we’ve recommended from the beginning.

Final Thoughts!

Although Black Butler seems confusing with OVAs, movie, and different names for seasons, it is actually not that hard compared to anime like Fate and .hack.

So, we hope this Black Butler watching guide clarifies your doubts on the series and help you in having a satisfying watch. If you have any queries regarding the watch order, feel free to let us know through the comment section below.

You might also like:

Visit the anime community of India-Anime Ukiyo for more content!

For the latest anime news and reviews, follow Anime Ukiyo on TwitterFacebookInstagramPinterest, and Telegram Channel.

Posted by
Hanumanth Reddy

Hanumanth is an enthusiastic author who enjoys writing about anime, movies, and TV shows and aims to share his optimistic views with his readers. His favorite franchise is Star Wars, and he aspires to be a Jedi in the future, but he vows not to fall on the dark side.